Mobile mining doubts

Home Board Index » X3: Terran Conflict » Mobile mining doubts

Milchkuh

Milchkuh avatar
Level badge Rookiguey (4)
Posted 10 years ago.

Hello, I started playing this game (terran conflict) about 5 days ago, so im pretty new to it. Ive been running the game with a lot of forum and wiki in the background checking every time I had doubts and so far managed to have a decent start.
So I decided I wanted to give a try to mobile minery. I saw the nvidium "exploit" process, tried it, saw it work but I really dont want to use that system.
My current situation in the game: Humble merchant, a pair of small Sector traders atm, made some credits by doing missions, acquired a Dragon as personal ship, saved more money via missions, bough an Elephant and some Caiman miners (I know its not even a good setup but as I said im new and quite like the Split designs).
So my questions are as follows:

1: After watching several videos and some egosoft forum guides: what is the adequate size of a broken asteroid (the stones) so that the ships can gather it and not crash into it? If I shoot one rock too much it gets destroyed but then the sizes are a bit confusing... do I just need to get visually used to it or?

2: Is it mandatory to have setup a destination station for my miners? because even when setting up a station (wanted to select a TS transport I had physically present in the same area but it doesnt appear in the map selection screen and neither if I dock it to a station).

3: While being OOS, why is it that when I order my miners (they are equipped with drilling systems, ore colectors, ore scanners and the required software)the "mine minerals" they give me the message "we are done" a few seconds after without having even started? I read somewhere that the rock breaking needs to be done manually but then the command I should give them is "collect rocks in sector" instead?

4: Due to question 3, therefore what is the proper use for "mine minerals"?