Questions on Starts, Ships and PHQ

Home Board Index » X3: Albion Prelude » Questions on Starts, Ships and PHQ

Rastuasi

Rastuasi avatar
Level badge Rookiguey (4)
Posted 10 years ago.

Hello, first time posting here...even though I've read this site since I started playing TC back in its early days. Anyways, I have recently been forced to restart because Steam somehow managed to corrupt every single one of my saves for my Humble Merchant play through. I have started the Terran Commander and Poisoned Paranid for two reasons.
1. My Player ship has always been the Panther, even in my last AP save that was corrupted. 121 m/2, IBL front and 20 fighters...that sucker is a beast compared to the Tiger...that and I've seemingly lost the ability to shoot and steer at the same time (tried the Tiger towards the end there of the HM plot because of curiosity...it died...very fast). Guess the turrets lowered my ability to multitask haha.
2. I've always been Commonwealth due to bigger open map at game start and greater choice in ships/weapons.
However, I wanted to change things up a bit this time.
On my Paranid start, I got the Hyperion and it is overtuned to 209 m/s, however I cannot find the Pandora crates...after 40 satellites covering all the pirate sectors. On my Terran start...I made it to Venus, docked at the SPP there and nearly wet myself seeing how big/close you get to dock at that thing. Also that you need a 30km docking run at the military post in Venus. I knew the Terran system/station sizes were big, just never had docking rights in my other games...so never knew. I've read that the Terran PHQ had better bay size, capital docking ports and other stats, which is why I originally thought I'd go with that, but the system design up there is...somewhat lacking for me.
So I guess my questions are: