Unorthodox boarding method...

Home Board Index » X3: Albion Prelude » Unorthodox boarding method...

Ladoc

Ladoc avatar
Level badge Fightguey (6)
Posted 11 years ago.

Hi!
So I've been playing X3:AP for a few weeks now and after 2-3 failed attemts I finally started a somewhat decent
playthrough... (Self-sufficient E-cell loop,a few Wasp and Typhoon factories, a dozen traders, etc.)
I've been using a Griffon Sentinel as a playership for quite a while now, but I must say that I enjoyed fighting with maneuverable M3(+),M6 much more.
So I decided to get myself a Hyperion Vanguard to still be able to handle M6+ and M7's with little difficulty and occasionally hop onto a M3+ or M5 to quickly get somwhere or do certain missions.
I have no experience in boarding and I also don't want to spend too much time with it in the near future, so I'd like to keep my expenses as low as possible...
I already collected 6 Marines with 3 Stars in fighting and they're currently training all other abilities to three Stars...
I also found a Hyperion Vanguard and are currently pursuing him with one of my M3's.
Since I currently don't own a M6 that is even remotely ready for action I'd like to board the Hyp with my Griffon and a Teladi Geochen. (Stripping the shields and using ID's to remove the Sentry Lasers and some Weapons with my Griffon while keeping the Geochen out of Range and then beaming into the Geochen and outmaneuvering the Hyp to board)
To all you experienced boarding experts out there:
Is this a dumb Idea or worth a shot?

Imma firin mah lazor!
Roguey

Roguey avatar
Level badge Trueguey (22)
Posted 11 years ago.

Well boarding with anything else than a M7M is hard work, as the marines will fly out of the ship and try chasing the ship for ages. Its fine if the ship doesnt move however, like a Aran or the Atmospheric lifter (when it docks to unload its drones).