My Review of X4 Foundations (Minor Spoilers)

Home Board Index » X4: Foundations » My Review of X4 Foundations (Minor Spoilers)

bozo64r

bozo64r avatar
Level badge Miltaguey (15)
Posted 5 years ago.

I purchased X4 the moment it was available to pre-order, I paid for the collector's edition. I did debate to myself whether this was a good idea or not considering the scars X Rebirth left on us. But I went ahead and did it anyway.
I started playing the X Series with X2, and moved up through each game logging thousands of hours, definitely my favorite game series, I went back and played a bit of Beyond The Frontier and Tensions but did not play them as much. I was excited when X Rebirth game out, but as with a lot of people I was very disappointed. I have not played since the updates and I may go back bug don't currently have a desire to.
So X4, I've been impressed by the pre release game play videos and have been really excited to get going.
I’m currently about 25 hours in and this is my review.

X4 starts you off with a small ship (as expected). Apart from some tutorials, you’re on your own, I struggled to figure out what to do at first, I flew around getting used to how the ships fly, although I miss the ‘rotate around one point’ flying style of previous X games (bar Rebirth) i have had fun flying the ship and getting used. The different speeds are quite nice, and having the highways/superhighways/jumpgates I quite enjoy, they work really well to get around the map.
Picture