Absolute beginner with a absolute beginner questio

Home Board Index » X4: Foundations » Absolute beginner with a absolute beginner questio

forcemani

forcemani avatar
Level badge Noguey (0)
Posted 1 year ago.

I have been in this subject for a bit now and have thoroughly enjoyed reading about everyone's adventures. But I just don't see how you guys get started! I have watched about 10 beginner guides and gone through the tutorials but I still feel lost when I start a game. What do you guys do to get going [/url]?

SpaceWizard

SpaceWizard avatar
Level badge Rookiguey (4)
Posted 1 year ago.

In a way I understand your question...

The guides (Youtube) try to give you hints, some of them no longer valid, by the way, for example going for Crystals no longer works.

It also depends which start you select. When you start you game, also there are guides for this and that, but it depends on personal experiences and preferences.

So - if you find it hard to get into the game, I recommend the 'Young Gun' start. Why? It is uncomplicated, and gives you total freedom. The Terran Cadet start is praised because it gives you more 'guidance', this is true, but I do not really like it. But you could try it too.

The different starts ALL lead to the same story line missions, in some ways in a slightly different order, but you can do them all with any start you select. So what does the start do for you? It gives your character a race (most are human, but the other races are possible too). It gives you a set amount of money and property, and then you are set free, more or less.

Young Gun gives you only very weak resources, you have a really weak ship, and only 10.000 Credits. I still find it ideal for beginners, as long as you do not die (or have a recent save), nothing bad can happen.