New modder looking to learn

Home Board Index » Introduce yourself » New modder looking to learn

caffeeine

caffeeine avatar
Level badge Proguey (12)
Posted 11 years ago.

Hello. I found this site after I bought X3 I decided to start making my own scripts when I found out there was a script editor. I am looking to learn more about script editing. From roguey's tutorials I have learned a lot. But I am looking to do more with it. I wouldn’t mind making a script that will allow other races to invade each other and take over sectors. Things like that. Any ways a little about me.
    My name is caffeeine I live in the US but I was born in Germany (no I am not an army brat) I like to take long flights threw xenon sectors and occasionally spawning xenon ships in argon prime (they have no idea what to do). Oh and I am new to this whole forum thing so I have absolutely no idea what really to say or where to start.

A question that has puzzled me for my whole 24 years of life. If a word is in the dictonary is mispelled how do we know?
Roguey

Roguey avatar
Level badge Trueguey (22)
Posted 11 years ago.

hi and welcome to the site/forum! Wave

In the x-universe there are three types of main editors:

- Scripters (people who write scripts - usually in the script editor),
- Mission director or MD for short (people who write missions in XML),
- Modellers (People who use 3Dmax/gMax to make ships),

Being a scripter you will need to use the in-game editor - there are external editors although using the in-game doesnt require any more tools. When you create a script, certain names can be important: as default x doesnt run every script automatically, only ones starting with setup.

Using the script editor can be annoying at first, as you have to rely on a menu system way of entering commands rather than just typing them in. You best off starting small: try making a double line script to do the following:

- Get the sector of the playership,
- Then create a ship in that sector,